Friday April 13, 2012 Race Release






   Hanover ,  PA   (04/13/12) – Last week’s hard charger was this week’s winner in the “358” sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

Westminster, Maryland’s Steve Owings moved up to the outside of row two when Cory Brockman opted for the rear, and went on to claim his fifth career win at the McSherrystown oval.

“I appreciate the Big Mike’s Crabhouse hard charger,” said Owings upon exiting his Valentine Motorsports/Westminster Transmission #35 in victory lane, “But this payday will be a little nicer.”

Owings was second by the end of the first lap, and then took the lead from polesitter Keith Prutzman on lap two.  He led the rest of the way, crossing 2.46 seconds ahead of  Prutzman, with Austin Hogue crossing third. 

“You can come from the back here,” added Owings, “But the 66B car going to the back and starting closer to the front helped.  The car felt really good, but the end can’t come soon enough when you’re leading.”

Zach Euculano and 11th-starting Jeff Rohrbaugh completed the top five.  Sixth through tenth were Shane Hoff, opening night winner and 12th-starting Kyle Moody, 16th-starting and hard charger J.B. Cunningham (whose team went back to their  Westminster  shop to get another motor), Mike Bittinger, and Wes Irwin.

Heats for the 16 “358” sprint cars were won by Moody and Owings.


 Seth Kearchner chased outside front row starter Josh Chess for 13 laps before making the race-winning pass and claiming his second win of the young season in the 20-lap 1000cc “Sidewinder” micro-sprint feature.  From there, he drove away to a 2..40-second win.

Jim Young, driving his 600cc micro, came from eighth starting spot to finish second, with Brandon Yarlett third.

Heats for the 11 “Sidewinders” were won by Young and Yarlett.


 Larry Landis came from third starting spot to win his first-ever Trail-Way Extreme Stock feature.  Landis took the lead from outside front row starter Dan Furman on lap six.  Furman dropped from the field with a flat tire while running second during a14th-lap caution.

2011 track champ Timothy Hahn finished second, with last week’s feature winner Jeremy Stremmel third.

The lone heat for the nine Extreme Stocks was won by Furman.


 Robbie Carroll wrestled the lead from race-long leader Cory Weishaar on the final turns amidst a four-car battle for the lead to take the checkered in a wild 15-lap feature for the limited stocks.

Carroll started fifth and was already in second by the end of the second lap.  He remained there until the final turns, with eighth-starting Daryl Hanson and tenth-starting Kyle Rohrbaugh joining the battle for the lead over the final two laps.

Hanson ended up third, with Rohrbaugh fourth and 16th-starting Terry Hartlaub completing the top five.

Heats for the 23 limited stocks were won by Rohrbaugh and Shane Miller.


On Saturday (4/14), Trail-Way will host the Excel Modifieds for the only time this season.  Also on the schedule are the 600cc and 270cc Micro Sprints, Scramble Cars, and Strictly Stocks.  Gates open at 3:30 p.m. with racing beginning at 6:00 p.m.

Next Friday (4/20), Trail-Way Speedway will host the 358 Sprint Cars and the first of seven visits on the season by the 358 Late Models.  The Extreme Stocks and Limited Stocks are also on the schedule.  It will also be the first night of the Fantasy Fan Contest.  Gates open at 5:30 p.m. and racing begins at 7:30 p.m. 

Next Saturday (4/21), Trail-Way will host the 600cc and 270cc Micro Sprints, Scramble Cars, Saturday Limited Stocks and Strictly Stocks.  Gates open at 4:00 p.m. with racing beginning at 6:00 p.m.


For all the latest news and related information from Trail-Way Speedway, fans are reminded to visit the speedway website at The complete story and agate from each race night is posted shortly after the final checkered falls.





358 Sprint Cars  

Feature (25 Laps)  

1. 35-Steve Owings; 2. 28-Keith Prutzman; 3. 52-Austin Hogue; 4. 10-Zach Euculano; 5. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 6. 69-Shane Hoff; 7. 99M-Kyle Moody; 8. 7C-J.B. Cunningham; 9. 12-Mike Bittinger; 10. 9-Wes Irwin; 11. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 12. 66B-Cory Brockman; 13. 1-Tim Wagaman(DNF); 14. 5A-Brian Allman(DNF); 15. 01-Rick Horn(DNF); DNS: 64-Randy Whisler.  No Time.

Lap Leaders- Keith Prutzman (1), Steve Owings (2-25).


Heat 1 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)  

1. 99M-Kyle Moody; 2. 12-Mike Bittinger; 3. 52-Austin Hogue; 4. 10-Zach Euculano; 5. 5A-Brian Allman; 6. 66B-Cory Brockman; 7. 01-Rick Horn(DNF); DNS: 7C-J.B. Cunningham. Time 2:19.35.


Heat 2 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)  

1. 35-Steve Owings; 2. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 3. 9-Wes Irwin; 4. 28-Keith Prutzman; 5. 69-Shane Hoff; 6. 99-Joe Trone, Jr.; 7. 1-Tim Wagaman; 8. 64-Randy Whisler(DNF). No Time.


1000cc Sidewinder Sprints  

Feature (20 Laps)  

1. 30-Seth Kearchner; 2. 8-Jim Young; 3. 4T-Brandon Yarlett; 4. 81-Mike Zielonis; 5. 33-Brad Gleason; 6. 26-Jerry Strausbaugh; 7. 72-Josh Chess; 8. 5J-Jared Esh(DNF); 9. 75-Zach Overmiller(DNF); 10. 21-Jason Eisenhart(DNF); 11. 14-Rohan Beasley(DNF). No Time.

Lap Leaders- Josh Chess (1-13); Seth Kearchner (14-20).


Heat 1 (8 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 8-Jim Young; 2. 72-Joss Chess; 3. 5J-Jared Esh; 4. 14-Rohan Beasley; 5. 75-Zach Overmiller; 6. 26-Jerry Strausbaugh. Time 2:06.06.


Heat 2 (8 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 4T-Brandon Yarlett; 2. 81-Mike Zielonis; 3. 30-Seth Kearchner; 4. 33-Brad Gleason(DNF); 5. 21-Jason Eisenhart.  Time 2:11.75.


Extreme Stocks

Feature (20 Laps)

1. 3-Larry Landis; 2. 659H-Timothy Hahn; 3. 99-Jeremy Stremmel; 4. 51X-tim Osheehan; 5. 101-David Goode; 6. 04-Jim Jacobs; 7. 7-Matt Johnson; 8. 5M-Dan Furman; 9. 74-Joe Racine. No Time.

Lap Leaders- Dan Furman (1-5), Larry Landis (6-20).


Heat 1 (8 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 5M-Dan Furman; 2. 659H-Timothy Hahn; 3. 74-Joe Racine; 4. 3-Larry Landis; 5. 99-Jeremy Stremmel; 6. 04-Jim Jacobs; 7. 101-David Goode; 8. 7-Matt Johnson; 9. 51X-Tim Osheehan(DNF). Time 2:50.91.



Friday Limited Stocks

Feature (15 Laps)

1. 69-Robbie Carroll; 2. 37-Cory Weishaar; 3. 5-Daryl Hanson; 4. 12-Kyle Rohrbaugh; 5. 92-Terry Hartlaub; 6. 2-Chad Weaver; 7. 59-Ryan Smith; 8. 3-Rod Weaver; 9. 25-Allen Haines; 10. 15-Nick McDaniel; 11. 38-Jason Chronister; 12. 96-Sarah Redmond; 13. 9-Wes McDaniel; 14. 94-Kenny Startzman III; 15. 16-Julio Perez; 16. 10-Aaron Levin; 17. 81-Matt Chronsiter(DNF); 18. 01-Chelsea Weaver(DNF); 19. 39-Shane Miller(DNF); 20. 21-Ricky Weaver(DNF); DNS: 54-Kyle Martin; 29-Mike Wolf; 17-Brian Blank, Jr. No Time.

Lap Leaders- Cory Weishaar(1-14); Robbie Carroll (15).


Heat 1 (6 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 12-Kyle Rohrbaugh; 2. 9-Wes McDaniel; 3. 5-Daryl Hanson; 4. 37-Cory Weishaar; 5. 59-Ryan Smith; 6. 38-Jason Chronister; 7. 94-Kenny Startzman; 8. 01-Chelsea Weaver; 9. 16-Julio Perez; 10. 54-Kyle Martin(DNF); 11. 21-Ricky Weaver(DNF); 12. 17-Brian Blank, Jr.(DNF). No Time.


Heat 2 (6 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 29-Shane Miller; 2. 81-Matt Chronister; 3. 69-Robbie Carroll; 4. 2-Chad Weaver; 5. 25-Allen Haines; 6. 15-Mick McDaniel; 7. 3-Rod Weaver; 8. 92-Terry Hartlaub; 9. 96-Sarah Redmond; 10. 10-Aaron Levin; 11. 29-Mike Wolf. Time 2:07.43.

Education - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.