Friday July 11, 2014 Race Release

Hanover, PA (07/11/14) –Everyone could see it coming.  And it finally did for New Oxford’s Dwight Leppo, who held off the repeated challenges of all-time Trail-Way winner Brad McClelland to claim his first career “358” sprint car victory in the 25-lap feature Friday night.

“It feels good to finally be here!” exclaimed Leppo upon exiting his family-owned Auchey Body Shop/Leppo’s Garage #4 in victory lane, “I knew Brad would be right there.  I’m glad he didn’t get me this time.”

Leppo started beside polesitter Denny Gross and led every lap.

Gross brought out the red flag when he flipped in turn two of lap four. 

McClelland had some problems of his own, bouncing several times and losing third place to Seth Kearchner in turn four of the second lap.  Once the race restarted after the Gross flip, McClelland reclaimed third from Kearchner on lap six, and then passed Isaac Sneeringer on turn two of an 11th-lap restart.

McClelland closed quickly on Leppo and was challenging for the lead by lap 15.  Over the next five laps, the two leaders pulled away from the rest of the field.  They actually made contact on the backstretch of lap 20, sending McClelland into the infield, but McClelland saved it and hung onto to the runner-up spot.  Though he closed on the leader again, he was not able to make the pass.

Sneeringer hung on for third, with hard charger Robbie Kendall from 12th starting spot to cross fourth and Cody Fletcher fifth.

Heats for the 12 “358” sprinters were won by McClelland and Gross.


Travis Scott came from sixth starting spot to inherit the lead when Bo Gordon lost a chain on a 15th-lap restart and led the rest of the way in the 20-lap 600cc micro-sprint feature.

Jim Young started third and crossed second, with tenth-starting Brad Weber, ninth-starting David Holbrook, and 11th-starting Hannah Riser completing the top five.

Qualifiers for the 15 micros were won by Holbrook and Weber.


Logan Jones started on the pole and led every lap of the 15-lap ACMS 600cc stock micro-sprint feature event.  It was a perfect night for the 14-year-old, who also won the lone heat for the six stock micros on hand.

Gunnar Layton, Drew Ritchey, Justin Whittail were the other cars that finished, crossing second through fourth.




Kyle Rohrbaugh, running a limited schedule this year, won his first race of the year in the 15-lap limited stock main event.

Rohrbaugh started sixth and took the lead from polesitter Mike Wolf on the second lap.  He led the rest of the way, with 12th-starting Jason Chronister, Tom Senseney, Cody Klinedinst, and Matt Chronister completing the top five.

Heats for the 20 limited stocks were won by Wolf and Jason Chronister.


Jeremy Stremmel took to the top side to drive around both a lapped car and leader Dan Furman on the final turn to claim a thrilling win in the 20-lap street stock feature.

Furman came from 12th starting spot to claim the lead from Stremmel on lap 18.  But Stremmel never gave up, and used the heavy lapped traffic to his advantage in making the last-turn pass.

Furman crossed less than a carlength behind in second, with Larry Landis, Michel Goodwin (who came from the back after replacing a flat tire), and Chad Stine rounding out the top five.

Heats for the 13 street stocks were won by Stremmel and Goodwin.



Next Friday (7/18), Trail-Way Speedway will host the 358 Sprint Cars, 358 Late Models, Limited Stocks, and Street Stocks.  Gates open at 5:30 p.m. and racing begins at 7:30 p.m. 


For all the latest news and related information from Trail-Way Speedway, fans are reminded to visit the speedway website at  The complete story and agate from each race night is posted shortly after the final checkered falls.


Trail-Way Speedway                                                                                    July 11,2014



358 Sprint Cars

Feature (25 Laps)

1. 4-Dwight Leppo; 2. 6R-Brad McClelland; 3. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 4. 55-Robbie Kendall; 5. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 6. 10-Zach Euculano(DNF); 7. 64-Randy Whisler(1 lap down); 8. 30-Seth Kearchner(DNF); 9. 9C-Bill Case, Jr.(DNF); 10. 7M-Tyler Buchenauer(DNF); 11. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle(DNF); 12. 2-Dennis Gross(DNF). No Time.

Lap Leaders- Dwight Leppo (1-25).


Heat 1 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 6R-Brad McClelland; 2. 30-Seth Kearchner; 3. 55-Robbie Kendall; 4. 19Z-Isaac Sneeringer; 5. 64-Randy Whisler; 6. 7M-Tyler Buchenauer(DNF).  Time 2:19.44.


Heat 2 (10 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 2-Dennis Gross; 2. 4-Dwight Leppo; 3. 10-Zach Euculano; 4. 9C-Bill Case, Jr.; 5. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 6. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle.  Time 2:28.87.


600cc Micro Sprints

Feature (20 Laps)

1. 07-Travis Scott; 2. 8-Jim Young; 3. 17-Brad Weber; 4. 17D-David Holbrook; 5. 14K-Hannah Riser; 6. 77-Larry Thompson; 7. 1-Shawn Seifert; 8. 84-Colton Laughman; 9. 10-Jeremy Glass; 10. 87-Buddy Hines; 11. 67-Justin Whittail; 12. 14S-Bret Cronrath; 13. 10B-Brandon Noel; 14. 13-Bo Gordon(DNF); 15. 1-Shawn Seifert(DNF).  No Time.

Lap Leaders- Bo Gordon (1-14); Travis Scott (15-20).


Heat 1 (8 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 17D-David Holbrook; 2. 1S-Steve Bull; 3. 13-Bo Gordon; 4. 10B-Brandon Noel; 5. 84-Colton Laughman; 6. 14K-Hannah Riser; 7. 14S-Bret Cronrath; 8. 10-Jeremy Glass. Time 2:06.19.


Heat 2 (8 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 17-Brad Weber; 2. 07-Travis Scott; 3. 8-Jim Young; 4. 77-Larry Thompson; 5. 87-Buddy Hines; 6. 67-Justin Whittail; 7. 1-Shawn Seifert(DNF). No Time.


ACMS 600cc Micro Sprints

Feature (15 Laps)

1. 5J-Logan Jones; 2. 7L-Gunnar Layton; 3. 1R-Drew Ritchey; 4. 67-Justin Whittail; 5. 5-Sean Garman(DNF); 6. 9-Al Vican(DNF). No Time.

Lap Leaders- Logan Jones (1-15)


Heat 1 (8 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 5J-Logan Jones; 2. 67-Justin Whittail; 3. 1R-Drew Ritchey; 4. 7L-Gunnar Layton; 5. 5-Sean Garman; 6. 9-Al Vican. No time.

Limited Stocks

Feature (15 Laps)

1. 95-Kyle Rohrbaugh; 2. 38-Jason Chronister; 3. 1-Tom Senseney; 4. 99-Cody Klinedenst; 5. 81-Matt Chronister; 6. 21-Ricky Weaver, Jr.; 7. 51-Chad Weaver; 8. 41-Robert Wellman; 9. 88-Justin Oberlin; 10. 20-Wesley Kellison; 11. 29-Mike Wolf; 12. 98-Travis Brown; 13. 15-Lee Redman; 14. 92-Terry Hartlaub(DNF); 15. 94-Kenny Startzman(DNF); 16. ; 17.  ; DNS: 10-Zach Euculano; 69-Robbie Carroll; 32-Jeff Foster. No Time.

Lap Leaders-Mike Wolf (1); Kyle Rohrbaugh (2-4; 6-15); Terry Hartlaub (5).  


Heat 1 (6 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 29-Mike Wolf; 2. 95-Kyle Rohrbaugh; 3. 92-Terry Hartlaub; 4. 51-Chad Weaver; 5. 88-Justin Oberlin; 6. 1-Tom Senseney; 7. 98-Travis Brown; 8. 69-Robbie Carroll; 9. 89-Wesley Miller; 10. 32-Jeff Foster(DNF).  Time 2:10.66.


Heat 2 (6 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 38-Jason Chronister; 2. 81-Matt Chronister; 3. 41-Robert Wellman; 4. 21-Ricky Weaver, Jr.; 5. 99-Cody Klinedenst; 6. 20-Wesley Kellison; 7. 10-Aaron Levin; 8. 94-Kenny Startzman; 9. 15-Lee Redman; 10. 55-Kory Shorb(DNF). No Time.


Street Stocks

Feature (20 Laps)

1. 8-Jeremy Stremmel; 2. 5M-Dan Furman; 3. 3-Larry Landis; 4. 33-Michael Goodwin; 5. 2-Chad Stine; 6. 28-Kelly Seal III; 7. 40-David Goode, Sr.; 8. 6T-Todd Miller; 9. 17-Brian Blank, Jr.; 10. 40K-David Johnson; 11. 99-Joey Harrison(DNF); 12. 3B-Cameron Benyou(DNF); DNS: 55-Patrick McClane. No Time.

Lap Leaders- Brian Blank, Jr. (1-7); Jeremy Stremmel (8-17; 20); Dan Furman (18-19).


Heat 1 (8 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 8-Jeremy Stremmel; 2. 5M-Dan Furman; 3. 17-Brian Blank, Jr.; 4. 28S-Kelly Seal III; 5. 99-Joey Harrison; 6. 3B-Cameron Benyou(DNF); 7. 55-Patrick McClane(DNF).  Time 2:40.47.


Heat 2 (8 Laps/All to Qualify)


1. 33-Michael Goodwin; 2. 2-Chad Stine; 3. 3-Larry Landis; 4. 40K-David Johnson; 5. 40-David Goode, Sr.; DNS: 6T-Todd Miller. Time 2:42.06.

Education - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.