Friday May 4th, 2012 Race Release





 Hanover, PA (05/04/12) – Austin Hogue ran away from the field to become the fifth different winner in five races in the 25-lap “358” sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

“I don’t know what they did to the car, because we weren’t good in the heat,” said Hogue upon exiting his BAPS Auto Paint & Supply/EnviroBase High Performance/PPG Automotive/Delco Signs #52 in victory lane, “All the credit goes to the crew.  I love running this track!  I hope we get some more cars.”

Handicapping placed the Manchester driver fifth for the start.  Hogue was third by the end of the first lap, caught Rick Horn for second on lap two, and drove under polesitter and race-long leader Randy Whisler exiting turn two of lap nine to take the lead for good.

After that, the race was for second, as Hogue crossed under the checkered flags nearly a quarter-lap ahead of ninth-starting hard charger Brad McClelland.

“I saw the 6R come up on the board, and I was getting scared!” added Hogue, “I want to thank Dick Smith Motorsports.  Dick is the crew chief and he gives us everything we need.”

Third through fifth were Whisler (in his best finish of the year), tenth-starting Kyle Moody, and Tim Wagaman.  Completing the top ten were Brian Allman, Jeff Rohrbaugh, Keith Prutzman, Wes Irwin, and Zach Euculano.

Heats for the 17 “358” sprinters were won by Ryan Wilson and Wagaman.


Annville’s Scott Riggan won in his first ride in the 20-lap 1000cc “Sidewinder” micro-sprint feature. 

Riggan started on the pole and led the first three laps before yielding to third-starting Jim Young, piloting his 600cc micro-sprint.  Young led the next nine laps before dropping into the pits during a 13th-lap caution.  That handed the lead back over to Riggan, who paced the field the rest of the way.

Eighth-starting Seth Kearchner crossed second, with Zach Overmiller, Jerry Strausbaugh, and Mike Zielonis completing the top five.  

Heats for the 11 Sidewinders were won by Riggan and Josh Chess.


Ricky Weaver, Jr. ended his streak of bad luck by winning the 15-lap limited stock feature.

Weaver started on the pole, but it was Matt Chronister who led the first four laps.  Chronister had bad luck of his own, dropping from the field during a fifth-lap caution.

Weaver assumed the lead for the restart and led the rest of the way, with a four-car battle for second in behind.

Daryl Hanson, who started eighth, crossed second, with Terry Hartlaub, 12th-starting Kyle Rohrbaugh, and Chad Weaver rounding out the top five.

Heats for the 24 limited stocks were won by Ricky Weaver, Jr. and Matt Chronister.


Go kart racing comes to Trail-Way Speedway tomorrow (5/5) and Sunday (5/6).  The “East Meets West” Series is expected to draw more than 300 go karts, culminating with a PDKS Kart Series event on Sunday.                               Gates tomorrow (5/5) open at 4:00 p.m. and racing begins at 6:00 p.m.  On Sunday (5/6), gates open at 5:00 a.m. with racing beginning at 11:00 a.m.

Next Friday (5/11), Trail-Way Speedway will host the 358 Sprint Cars and 358 Late Models.  The Central PA Legends Cars and Friday Limited Stocks are also on the schedule. Gates open at 5:30 p.m. and racing begins at 7:30 p.m. 

Next Saturday (5/12), Trail-Way will host the 600cc and 270cc Micro Sprints, Central PA Legends Cars, Scramble Cars, and Strictly Stocks.  Gates open at 4:30 p.m. with racing beginning at 6:30 p.m.


For all the latest news and related information from Trail-Way Speedway, fans are reminded to visit the speedway website at The complete story and agate from each race night is posted shortly after the final checkered falls.




358 Sprint Cars


Feature (25 Laps)

1. 52-Austin Hogue; 2. 6R-Brad McClelland; 3. 64-Randy Whisler; 4. 99M-Kyle Moody; 5. 1-Tim Wagaman; 6. 5A-Brian Allman; 7. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 8. 28-Keith Prutzman; 9. 9-Wes Irwin; 10. 10-Zach Euculano; 11. 12-Mike Bittinger(DNF); 12. 29-Ryan Wilson(DNF); 13. 55-Matthew Krause(DNF); 14. 01-Rick Horn(DNF); 15. 66B-Cory Brockman(DNF); DNS: 7C-J.B. Cunningham; 69-Shane Hoff. No Time.

Lap Leaders- Randy Whisler (1-8), Austin Hogue (9-25).


Heat 1 (8 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 29-Ryan Wilson; 2. 64-Randy Whisler; 3. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 4. 6R-Brad McClelland; 5. 52-Austin Hogue; 6. 01-Rick Horn; 7. 9-Wes Irwin; 8. 12-Mike Bittinger; 9. 55-Matthew Krause.  Time 2:20.87.


Heat 2 (8 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 1-Tim Wagaman; 2. 5A-Brian Allman; 3. 99M-Kyle Moody; 4. 28-Keith Prutzman; 5. 10-Zach Euculano; 6. 66B-Cory Brockman; 7. 69-Shane Hoff(DNF); DNS: 7C-J.B. Cunningham . No Time.



1000cc Sidewinder Sprints


Feature (20 Laps)

1. 1K-Scott Riggan; 2. 30-Seth Kearchner; 3. 75-Zach Overmiller; 4. 26-Jerry Strausbaugh; 5. 81-Mike Zielonis; 6. 72-Josh Chess; 7. 59-Alex Schanz(DNF); 8. 4T-Brandon Yarlett(DNF); 9. 14-Rohan Beasley(DNF); 10. 8-Jim Young(DNF); DNS: 5J-Jason Stahl. No Time.

Lap Leaders- Scott Riggan (1-3, 13-20), Jim Young (4-12).


Heat 1 (8 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 1K-Scott Riggan; 2.8-Jim Young ; 3. 26-Jerry Strausbaugh; 4. 59-Alex Schanz; 5. 75-Zach Overmiller; 6. 81-Mike Zielonis.  Time 2:03.32.


Heat 2 (8 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 72-Josh Chess; 2. 4T-Brandon Yarlett; 3. 30-Seth Kearchner; 4. 5J-Jason Stahl; 5. 14-Rohan Beasley.  Time 2:02.62.




Friday Limited Stocks


Feature (15 Laps)

1. 21-Ricky Weaver, Jr.; 2. 5-Daryl Hanson; 3. 92-Terry Hartlaub; 4. 12-Kyle Rohrbaugh; 5. 2-Chad Weaver; 6. 39-Shane Miller; 7. 37-Cory Weishaar; 8. 96-Sarah Redmond; 9. 98-Rob Nicklow; 10. 15-Nick McDaniel; 11. 69-Robbie Carroll; 12. 54-Tyler Gastley; 13. 16-Julio Perez; 14. 94-Kenny Startzman; 15. 88-Justin Oberlin(DNF); 16.38-Jason Chronister(DNF); 17. 3-Rod Weaver(DNF); 18. 25-Allen Haines(DNF); 19. 81-Matt Chronister(DNF); 20. 59-Ryan Smith(DNF); 21. 01-Chelsea Weaver(DNF); 22. 10-Aaron Levin(DNF); 23. 17-Brian Blank, Jr.(DNF); DNS: 29-Mike Wolf . No Time.

Lap Leaders- Matt Chronister (1-4), Ricky Weaver, Jr. (5-15).


Heat 1 (6 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 21-Ricky Weaver, Jr.; 2. 12-Kyle Rohrbaugh; 3. 39-Shane Miller; 4. 59-Ryan Smith; 5. 2-Chad Weaver; 6. 37-Cory Weishaar; 7. 54-Tyler Gastley; 8. 38-Jason Chronister; 9. 94-Kenny Startzman; 10. 01-Chelsea Weaver(DNF); 11. 29-Mike Wolf(DNF); DNS: 3-Rod Weaver. Time 2:00.84.


Heat 2 (6 Laps/All to Qualify)

1. 81-Matt Chronister; 2. 5-Daryl Hanson; 3. 96-Sarah Redmond; 4. 92-Terry Hartlaub; 5. 69-Robbie Carroll; 6. 25-Allen Haines; 7. 15-Nick McDaniel; 8. 16-Julio Perez; 9. 88-Justin Oberlin; 10. 17-Brian Blank, Jr.; 11. 98-Rob Nicklow(DNF); 12. 10-Aaron Levin(DNF). No Time.

Education - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.